The Lost Sister of Fifth Avenue by Ella Carey
Book Review

Publication Date: July 7, 2022
Publisher: Bookouture
Series: Daughters of New York #4
Format: ebook, print and audio
Genre: Historical Fiction

Synopsis

New York, 1938: Martha pulled the door of her Fifth Avenue apartment closed, her heart thumping, re-reading the telegram she’d been dreading. Her beloved sister Charlotte needed her help. She was alone in Paris, and the threat of Nazi invasion was growing ever stronger. The time had come for Martha to make the bravest decision of her life. She needed to bring Charlotte home.

As Martha looks out of her bedroom window at the blossom-covered trees in Central Park, she is a world away from Europe and the threat of war. But when a telegram arrives from her sister Charlotte telling of the death of their Jewish friend Anita, Martha’s quiet life changes in an instant. With the threat of the Nazi invasion growing, Martha knows she must travel to Paris to convince Charlotte to return home.

When Martha arrives, she finds a city preparing for war. Soldiers patrol Paris’ cobbled streets and families talk of packing up and fleeing with whatever they can carry. Clutching her sister tightly, Martha knows that Charlotte has already decided to stay. Charlotte’s heart is in France, and as an American in Paris she believes she will be safe.

When the Nazis march through Paris’ streets and raise their flags over the city’s most beautiful buildings, Charlotte is determined not to give in. She works for the Resistance with a Frenchman named Louis, carrying messages, and hiding Anita’s family’s precious art collection from the Nazis. Meanwhile, Martha vows to help a female Jewish professor to safety in America, only to be faced with impossible odds.

But as the war rages, Martha and Charlotte’s determination will be tested like never before. And when Charlotte uncovers a shocking secret about her family which threatens her own life, can she find the strength to protect those she loves the most?

From top ten bestselling author Ella Carey comes an utterly heartbreaking novel about the strength of sisterly love and the courage of the women of the Resistance. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale, All The Light We Cannot See and Fiona Valpy.

My Thoughts

With rumblings of war, quiet, reserved and bookish Martha Belmont travels to Paris to persuade her more courageous and independent sister, Charlotte, to leave before it becomes too dangerous. Charlotte is adamant that she will stay, citing her American nationality as protection. Disappointed, Martha returns to New York without Charlotte. Instead, she is accompanied by an elderly Jewish couple, Élise and Olivier Goldstein, the grieving parents of Anita, who have made the heartbreaking decision to leave their home and possessions, including a valuable art collection, behind for the safety of America.

To thwart the Nazis' plans to destroy or appropriate artwork, Charlotte becomes involved in transporting not only the Goldsteins' most valuable pieces but other priceless works from the Louvre to secret locations in the south of France. Determined to do more and still believing her nationality will keep her safe, Charlotte becomes a courier for the Resistance. However, a secret kept for nearly twenty years, will place her in grave danger.

In this novel, Ella Carey cleverly weaves three strands together to create another fascinating addition to her Daughters of New York series: Martha's life in New York, Charlotte's in France and events during and after World War I which explains the close ties between the Belmont and Goldstein families.

What I enjoyed about this novel aside from the historical setting, was the development of Martha's character and her dawning awareness that she too has the ability to make a difference. Although removed from any physical danger, her fight against the Nazis proves to be as determined as Charlotte's.

The Lost Sister of Fifth Avenue is another emotionally-packed read from an author who never disappoints.

Meet the Author

Ella Carey is the international bestselling author of The Things We Don’t Say, Secret Shores, From a Paris Balcony, The House by the Lake, and Paris Time Capsule. Her books have been published in over fourteen languages, in twelve countries, and have been shortlisted for ARRA awards. A Francophile who has long been fascinated by secret histories set in Europe’s entrancing past, Ella has degrees in music, nineteenth-century women’s fiction, and modern European history. She lives in Melbourne with her two children and two Italian greyhounds who are constantly mistaken for whippets.

Connect with Ella: Website : Facebook : Twitter : Instagram

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Ella Carey here: https://www.bookouture.com/ella-carey

Where to Purchase

Amazon: https://geni.us/B09XJ7N5QDsocial

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

Blog Tour Schedule

1 comment:

  1. I really liked this one too!!

    Thanks for sharing this with the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

    ReplyDelete