Book Review: A Hangman for Ghosts by Andrei Baltakmens

Publication Date: July 1, 2018
Top Five Books
Paperback & eBook; 288 Pages
Genre: Historical Mystery

Synopsis

“We are transported. We are consigned to the ends of the Earth. And we are therefore as good as dead to the realm and its judges. There can be no hope of reprieve…”

Gabriel Carver, the convict hangman of Sydney Prison, knows that none of his kind may depart Australia’s penal colony without the system’s leave.

Blog Tour/Book Review + Giveaway: The King's Justice by E.M. Powell


Publication Date: June 1, 2018
Thomas & Mercer
Paperback & eBook; 288 Pages
ISBN-978-1542046015
Series: Stanton and Barling #1
Genre: Historical Mystery

Synopsis

A murder that defies logic—and a killer on the loose.

England, 1176. Aelred Barling, esteemed clerk to the justices of King Henry II, is dispatched from the royal court with his young assistant, Hugo Stanton, to

Cover Reveal: Beautiful Invention: A Novel of Hedy Lamarr by Margaret Porter


Publication Date: October 16, 2018
Gallica Press
Paperback; eBook
Genre: Historical Biographical Fiction

Synopsis

“But I don’t regret anything. I learned a lot.” —Hedy Lamarr

Book Blast + Giveaway: The Daughter of River Valley by Victoria Cornwall

Publication Date: July 17, 2018
eBook; Choc Lit; 313 Pages
AudioBook; Soundings
Genre: Historical Romance
Series: Cornish Tales #3

Synopsis

Beth Jago appears to have the idyllic life, she has a trade to earn a living and a cottage of her own in Cornwall’s beautiful River Valley. Yet appearances can be deceptive …

Beth has a secret. Since inheriting her isolated cottage she has been receiving threats, so when she

Blog Tour/Book Review: The Gilded Shroud by Elizabeth Bailey

Elizabeth Bailey is a popular author of Georgian romances. The Gilded Shroud is the first book in her Lady Fan Mystery series also set in the Georgian era.

Publication Date: June 21, 2018
Publisher: Sapere Books
ebook
Genre:Historical Fiction, Mystery, romance

Synopsis

1789, London

When Emily Fanshawe, Marchioness of Polbrook, is found strangled in her bedchamber, suspicion immediately falls on those residing in the grand house in Hanover Square.

Emily’s husband - Randal Fanshawe, Lord Polbrook

Book Review: We That Are Left by Lisa Bigelow

Many Australians and naval historians know of the mystery surrounding the disappearance of HMAS Sydney during World War II and the discovery of its wreckage which made headline news in 2008.

In her debut novel, Lisa Bigelow draws on her family's history to tell the story of Mae, the wife of a naval engineer aboard the HMAS Sydney, and Grace, an aspiring female reporter whose boyfriend is posted to Singapore to cover the war there.

Synopsis

Melbourne, 1941. Headstrong young Mae meets and falls head over heels in love with Harry Parker, a

Blog Tour/Book Review: Chasing the Wind by C.C. Humphreys

Publication Date: June 5, 2018
Paperback & eBook; 320 Pages
Genre: Historical/Women's Fiction/Mystery


Synopsis

Smuggler. Smoker. Aviatrix. Thief. The dynamic Roxy Loewen is all these things and more, in this riveting and gorgeous historical fiction novel for readers of Paula McLain, Roberta Rich, Kate Morton and Jacqueline Winspear.

You should never fall in love with a flyer. You should only fall in love with flight.

Book Review: The Power Game by Meg and Tom Keneally

The Power Game is the third book in the crime series set in Colonial Australia by daughter and father team, Meg and Tom Kenneally.

Synopsis

When a boatman is murdered on a remote island off Van Dieman’s Land, the authorities want to blame a famous, and very inconvenient, political prisoner. But the victim’s history of blackmail prompts Monsarrat to look further afield – and not everyone is happy . . .

In this, the third in the Monsarrat series, Hugh Llewelyn Monsarrat and his trusty housekeeper, Mrs

Blog Tour/Book Review: Henry (Book #3 The Tudor Trilogy) by Tony Riches

Publication Date: May 17, 2017
Preseli Press
eBook & Paperback; 320 Page
Genre: Historical Fiction


Synopsis

Finalist for the Amazon Storyteller Award 2017

Bosworth 1485: After victory against King Richard III, Henry Tudor becomes King of England. Rebels and pretenders plot to seize his throne. The barons resent his plans to curb their power and he wonders who he can trust. He hopes to unite Lancaster and York

Blog Tour/Book Review: Jasper (Book #2 The Tudor Trilogy) by Tony Riches

Publication Date: March 22, 2016
Preseli Press
eBook & Paperback; 360 Pages

Genre: Historical Fiction


Synopsis

Following the best-selling historical fiction novel OWEN – Book One of The Tudor Trilogy, this is the story, based on actual events, of Owen’s son Jasper Tudor, who changes the history of England forever.

England 1461: The young King Edward of York has

Blog Tour/Book Review: Owen (Book #1 The Tudor Trilogy) by Tony Riches

Publication Date: July 26, 2015
Preseli Press
eBook & Paperback; 318 Pages
Genre: Historical Fiction

Synopsis

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, OWEN is the epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience as he changes the course of English history.

England 1422: Owen Tudor, a Welsh servant, waits in Windsor Castle to meet his new mistress, the beautiful and lonely Queen Catherine of Valois, widow of the

The Classics Club Spin #17 - Update

30th April was the deadline to finish the book for this Classics Club Spin. My book for the spin was Shirley by Charlotte Brontë. Unfortunately, I didn't finish it and I can't see this occurring in the near future. The bookmark is at page 134. I've resisted removing it and returning the book to my bookshelf as this would admit defeat. So, Shirley is still "active" and in view, with the epynominous heroine yet to make an appearance. What should have been a great read