America's Daughter by Celeste De Blasis
Book Review - Blog Tour

Publication Date: April 27, 2021
Publisher: Bookouture
Format: ebook
Genre: Historical Fiction

Synopsis

With Washington’s army, she joined America’s fight for independence…

1773. The night that Addie Valencourt sneaks out to witness the Boston Tea Party, she knows that her world is about to change forever. Soon, the love and security of her tight-knit family is torn apart by the fight for American independence.

When the British lay siege to Boston, Addie’s English-born father welcomes them into his home, while her childhood sweetheart Silas leaves to join General Washington Addie is determined to follow him when she meets Scottish Highlander John Traverne. The frowning, dark-haired soldier is unlike anyone she has ever known, and he interests her more than he should. But any future with a man on the opposite side of this fight is impossible…

As the bitter war continues, Addie’s life becomes increasingly bound with the fate of America. When Silas is captured by the British, she risks all to search for him, but venturing into enemy territory brings her face to face with her Highlander again. Now Addie must make an impossible choice between what her heart is telling her, and protecting the secrets—and even the very lives—of the Patriots on the dangerous front line…

The first part of an epic, emotional and heartbreaking trilogy about a woman caught in the struggle for a new America. Readers who love My Dear Hamilton and Flight of the Sparrow will be swept away by America’s Daughter.

My Thoughts

I enjoyed reading Celeste De Blasis' Wild Swan Trilogy so much that I jumped at the chance to read a previously unpublished trilogy by this brilliant author.

America's Daughter is the first of the three books and begins in 1773 when Ariadne (Addie) Valencourt and her twin brother, Adrian (Ad), witness the Boston Tea Party, a protest by the Sons of Liberty against the Tea Act where chests of tea were dumped into Boston Harbour. Addie and Ad recognise two of the protesters even though they are disguised as Mohawk Indians and are concerned how their father, a staunch Loyalist, will react if he finds out that their older brother, Justin, and his friend, Silas, were involved.

Although Marcus Valencourt has raised all his children to be independent thinkers, he is still saddened when his sons join the Continental Army to fight the British. Addie is conscious of the effect this has on her father, especially as she also supports the Rebels. Despite this, Marcus still welcomes British officers into his home and it is here that Addie meets the enigmatic Scotsman, John Traverne, and befriends another British soldier, Captain Paul Byrne.

As the siege of Boston continues and Addie awaits news of her brothers and Silas, conditions deteriorate. Food and fuel are in short supply, and an outbreak of smallpox will bring great sorrow to the family. Throughout it all, Addie stays strong, but she finds it hard to watch the change in her father as he finally admits to himself that the British cause is lost and some hard decisions must be made to ensure his family's future.

America's Daughter is an exciting introduction to this trilogy. It is another great combination of history and endearing characters that I've come to expect from this author. The portrayal of loving families is also one of Celeste De Blasis' strong points. You cannot help but be emotionally drawn into their lives.

Addie's story continues in America's Wife. I'm so looking forward to see what fate has in store for this courageous young woman.

Where to Purchase

Amazon | Apple | Kobo | Google

Meet the Author

Millions of readers have fallen under the spell of the lush, enthralling and bestselling novels by Celeste De Blasis. Tales of adventure and romance set against the sweep of history—all are storytelling at its finest. After graduating from Pomona College, Celeste devoted her life to impeccable research and spellbinding writing. A native Californian, Celeste grew up on the historic Kemper Campbell Ranch in the Mojave Desert, where she lived until her death in 2001



Blog Tour Schedule

No comments:

Post a comment